Personal tools
You are here: Home WHAT's NEW!


Call for Nominations Editor-In-Chief ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (to become ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security)
The ACM Publications Board solicits nominations for Editor-in-Chief for ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security (TOPS). TOPS continues the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (TISSEC) series, but with an expanded scope (see below) and new name. EiC candidates will be asked to provide a plan for how to carry out this transformation.
Call for Nominations: Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of the ACM
The term of Victor Vianu, the current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the ACM (JACM), is coming to an end. A search committee has been formed to identify candidates for the next Editor-in-Chief and to recommend the most suitable one to the ACM Publications Board.
The SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award and SIGMOD Systems Award now have a $10000 (USD) honorarium.
Microsoft is the sponsor of the new SIGMOD Systems Award. With support from Microsoft, SIGMOD was able to raise the award levels significantly for these two prestigious awards.
Jennifer Widom named the ACM-W 2015-6 Athena Lecturer
The ACM-W Athena Lecturer Award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science.
Michael Stonebraker wins the ACM Turing Award
MIT's Stonebraker Brought Relational Database Systems from Concept to Commercial Success, Set the Research Agenda for the Multibillion-Dollar Database Field for Decades.
Kostas Stefanidis, Eirini Ntoutsi, and Haridimos Kondylakis are the featured bloggers at the SIGMOD blog.
Visit the SIGMOD blog ( to read their posting about "Information Hunting: The Many Faces of Recommendations for Data Exploration."
Call for submissions to the ACM Symposium on Cloud Computing, which is co-sponsored by SIGMOD. This year's symposium is co-located with VLDB 2015.
Call for Nominations - 2015 ACM SIGMOD Innovations and Contributions Awards
The SIGMOD Awards Committee invites nominations for the SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award and the SIGMOD Contributions Award. The nomination deadline for all awards is March 28, 2015.
Call for Nominations - 2015 SIGMOD Systems Award
The SIGMOD Systems Award is awarded to an individual or set of individuals to recognize the development of a software or hardware system whose technical contributions have had significant impact on the theory or practice of large-scale data management systems. The nomination deadline is March 15, 2015.
2014 ACM Fellows
The ACM has named several members of the SIGMOD community as ACM fellows for 2014. The honorees are Foto Afrati, Charles Bachmann, Juliana Freire, Johannes Gehrke, Shamkant Navathe, Jignesh Patel, Ramakrishnan Srikant and S. Sudarshan.
Document Actions