2022 SIGMOD Awards

The 2022 SIGMOD Awards Committee comprising of Yanlei Diao (Chair), Stefano Ceri, H.V. Jagadish, Samuel Madden, Volker Markl, Renée Miller, and Wang-Chiew Tan is happy to announce the following recipients of the 2022 ACM SIGMOD awards.

The 2022 ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award goes to Dan Suciu for lasting contributions to the foundations of novel data management trends.

The 2022 ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award goes to Christian S. Jensen for extensive, high-quality service to the database research community, including as Editor-in-Chief of ACM TODS and the VLDB Journal for 12+ years.

The 2022 ACM SIGMOD Test-of-Time Award goes to “NoDB: Efficient Query Execution on Raw Data Files” by Ioannis Alagiannis, Renata Borovica, Miguel Branco, Stratos Idreos, and Anastasia Ailamaki.

The 2022 ACM SIGMOD Systems Award goes to “Apache Spark“, an innovative, widely-used, open-source, unified data processing system encompassing relational, streaming, and machine-learning workloads.

The award recognizes the contributions of Michael Armbrust, Tathagata Das, Ankur Dave, Wenchen Fan, Michael J. Franklin, Huaxin Gao Maxim Gekk, Ali Ghodsi, Joseph Gonzalez, Liang-Chi Hsieh, Dongjoon Hyun, Hyukjin Kwon, Xiao Li, Cheng Lian, Yanbo Liang, Xiangrui Meng, Sean Owen, Josh Rosen, Kousuke Saruta, Scott Shenker, Ion Stoica, Takuya Ueshin, Shivaram Venkataraman, Gengliang Wang, Yuming Wang, Patrick Wendell, Reynold Xin, Takeshi Yamamuro, Kent Yao, Matei Zaharia, Ruifeng Zheng, and Shixiong Zhu.