2022 SIGMOD Awards

The 2022 SIGMOD Awards Committee comprising of Yanlei Diao (Chair), Stefano Ceri, H.V. Jagadish, Samuel Madden, Volker Markl, Renée Miller, and Wang-Chiew Tan is happy to announce the following recipients of the 2022 ACM SIGMOD awards. The 2022 ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award goes to Dan Suciu for lasting contributions to the foundations […]

2021 SIGMOD Awards

The 2021 ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award goes to Alon Halevy for his pioneering work on the foundations of data integration, Web-scale integration, and the intelligent use of structured data in Web search, with widespread practical impact.

PODS 2020 Best Paper Award

A Framework for Adversarially Robust Streaming Algorithms Omri Ben-Eliezer, Rajesh Jayaram, David P. Woodruff, and Eylon Yogev Omri Ben-Eliezer is a PhD student at Tel Aviv University, advised by Noga Alon. His research interests are in the algorithmic foundations of structured data analysis. His works develop efficient algorithms for data with complex structure by studying […]

2020 PODS Alberto Mendelzon Test of Time Award

Optimizing Linear Counting Queries under Differential Privacy Chao Li, Michael Hay, Vibhor Rastogi, Gerome Miklau, and Andrew McGregor Chao Li currently works at google as an engineer on privacy and storage related projects. Before joining google, he was at UMass Amherst as a Ph.D student, advised by Prof Georme Miklau. His research interests including privacy […]

2020 SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award

Beng Chin Ooi 2020 SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award Beng Chin Ooi is the recipient of the 2020 ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award for his innovative research and for devising and deploying innovative large-scale systems to manage and analyze data. The award recognizes both his groundbreaking research and his success in building […]

2020 SIGMOD Systems Award

BerkeleyDB — 2020 SIGMOD Systems Award BerkeleyDB 2020 SIGMOD Systems Award The creators of BerkeleyDB are the recipients of the 2020 SIGMOD Systems Award for their seminal work in embodying simplicity, quality, and elegance in a high-performance key-value store that has impacted many systems and applications over the last 25 years. BerkeleyDB contributors are (in […]

2020 SIGMOD Best Paper Award

The best paper co-winners for 2020 are ShapeSearch: A Flexible and Efficient System for Shape-based Exploration of Trendlines Tarique Siddiqui, Paul Luh, Zesheng Wang, Karrie Karahalios, Aditya Parameswaran and Pump Up the Volume: Processing Large Data on GPUs with Fast Interconnects Clemens Lutz, Sebastian Breß, Steffen Zeuch , Tilmann Rabl, Volker Markl Authors of ShapeSearch: […]

2020 SIGMOD Contributions Award

Philippe Bonnet, Juliana Freire, Stratos Idreos, Stefan Manegold, Ioana Manolescu, and Dennis Shasha 2020 SIGMOD Contributions Award The SIGMOD 2020 Contributions Award recognizes the innovative work in the data management community to encourage scientific reproducibility of our publications. Reproducibility was introduced at the 2008 SIGMOD Conference and since then has influenced how the community approaches […]

2020 Test of Time Award

Pregel: A System for Large-Scale Graph Processing Grzegorz Malewicz, Matthew H. Austern, Aart J.C. Bik, James C. Dehnert, Ilan Horn, Naty Leiser, and Grzegorz Czajkowski Pregel is one of the first systems for large-scale graph analytics. It introduced vertex-centric bulk-synchronous processing as programming and computation models for graph analytics. It has generated significant follow-on research […]