ACM SIGMOD/PODS 2005 Conference

Baltimore, Maryland

June 14-16,2005 

SIGMOD Call For Papers

24th ACM SIGMOD International Conference on Management of Data
Baltimore, Maryland
June 14-16, 2005

The annual ACM SIGMOD conference is a leading international forum for database researchers, practitioners, developers, and users to explore cutting-edge ideas and results, and to exchange techniques, tools, and experiences.  We invite the submission of original research contributions and industrial papers, as well as proposals for demonstrations, tutorials, and panels.  We encourage submissions relating to all aspects of data management defined broadly, and particularly encourage work on topics of emerging interest in the research and development communities.

Areas of interests include but are not limited to the following:

  • Approximation, uncertainty, and probabilistic databases
  • Benchmarking and performance evaluation
  • Data cleaning, transformation, migration, and lineage
  • Data mining and knowledge discovery
  • Data models, semantics, and query languages
  • Data privacy and security
  • Data stream and publish-subscribe systems
  • Data warehousing and OLAP
  • Digital libraries
  • Embedded, sensor, and mobile databases
  • Metadata management
  • Middleware and workflow management
  • Multimedia databases
  • Optimization, performance, availability, and reliability
  • Parallel, distributed, and heterogeneous databases
  • Peer-to-peer and networked data management
  • Personalized information systems
  • Physical database design, indexing, and tuning
  • Replication, caching, and view management
  • Scientific, biological, and statistical databases
  • Spatial, temporal, and real-time databases
  • Storage and transaction management
  • Text databases and information retrieval
  • User interfaces and data visualization
  • Web information and Web services
  • XML and semistructured databases

Important Dates

November 17, 2004, 8:59 PM PST

Research & industrial papers due (no abstract submission); Demonstration, tutorial and panel proposals due 

February 16, 2005 Notification of acceptance
March 23, 2005 Camera-ready due


Submission Guidelines

All aspects of the submission and notification process will be handled electronically.

Reviewing Process

The following items apply to research papers only, not industrial papers or demonstration, tutorial, or panel proposals.

Double-blind reviewing: As has become the tradition for SIGMOD, research papers will be judged for quality and relevance through double-blind reviewing, where the identities of the authors are withheld from the reviewers. Thus, author names and affiliations must not appear in the paper, and bibliographic references must be adjusted to preserve author anonymity. Further details on anonymity requirements will be made available at submission time.

Author feedback: On an experimental basis for this year, authors will be granted access to the text content of their reviews prior to final acceptance decisions. Authors will be given a short time period in which to submit feedback, which may be taken into account in the final decision process. Strict guidelines on length and content of feedback will be provided.

Number of accepted papers: On an experimental basis for this year, the number of accepted research papers will not be capped.  We will accept all papers meeting the high quality and innovation standards of SIGMOD, and all accepted papers will be incorporated into the conference program.


General Chair: Yelena Yesha, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Vice General Chair: Nabil R. Adam, Rutgers University
Program Committee Chair: Jennifer Widom, Stanford University
Industrial PC Chair: Daniela Florescu
Demonstrations PC Chair: Mary Fernandez, AT&T Labs
Tutorials Chair: Marianne Winslett, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Workshops Chair: Marianne Winslett, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Panels Chair: Tova Milo, Tel Aviv University
Proceedings Chair: Fatma Ozcan, IBM Almaden Research Center
Electronic Proceedings Chair: Rada Chirkova, North Carolina State
Publicity Chair: Louiqa Raschid, UMD
Web Chairs: Soon Ae Chun, Rutgers U., James Geller, NJIT
Organization Chairs: Vijay Atluri, Rutgers U., Anupam Joshi, UMBC
Corporate Sponsor Chair: Erich Neuhold , Fraunhofer/IPSI, Germany
Program Editor: Vincent Oria , NJIT


Program Committee:

Boldface denotes PC group leaders
  • Anastassia Ailamaki, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Paolo Atzeni, Universita di Roma Tre
  • Phil Bernstein, Microsoft Research
  • Philip Bohannon, Lucent Bell Labs
  • Alejandro Buchmann, Technical University of Darmstadt
  • Soumen Chakrabarti, IIT Bombay
  • Kevin Chang, University of Illinois
  • Sudarshan Chawathe, University of Maryland
  • Mitch Cherniack, Brandeis University
  • Chin-Wan Chung, KAIST
  • Roberta Cochrane, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Gautam Das, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Susan Davidson, University of Pennsylvania
  • Lois Delcambre, Portland State University
  • Alan Demers, Cornell University
  • David DeWitt, University of Wisconsin
  • AnHai Doan, University of Illinois
  • Amr El Abbadi, UC Santa Barbara
  • Michael Franklin, UC Berkeley
  • Johann-Christoph Freytag, Humboldt University Berlin
  • Luis Gravano, Columbia University
  • Sudipto Guha, University of Pennsylvania
  • Peter Haas, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Christian Jensen, Aalborg University
  • Ted Johnson, AT&T Labs
  • Hank Korth, Lehigh University
  • Donald Kossman, ETH Zurich
  • Nick Koudas, University of Toronto
  • Sam Madden, MIT
  • David Maier, Portland State University
  • Sharad Mehrotra, UC Irvine
  • Sergey Melnik, Microsoft Research
  • Renee Miller, University of Toronto
  • Bernhard Mitschang, University of Stuttgart
  • Rajeev Motwani, Stanford University
  • Jeff Naughton, University of Wisconsin
  • Svetlozar Nestorov, University of Chicago
  • Raymond Ng, University of British Columbia
  • Christopher Olston, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jignesh Patel, University of Michigan
  • Neoklis Polyzotis, UC Santa Cruz
  • Lucian Popa, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Michael Rabinovich, AT&T Labs
  • Jun Rao, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Arnon Rosenthal, MITRE
  • Kenneth Ross, Columbia University
  • Ken Salem, University of Waterloo
  • Betty Salzberg, Northeastern University
  • Sunita Sarawagi, IIT Bombay
  • Jayavel Shanmugasundaram, Cornell University
  • Kyuseok Shim, Seoul National University
  • Kian-Lee Tan, National University of Singapore
  • Wang-Chiew Tan, UC Santa Cruz
  • Frank Tompa, University of Waterloo
  • Wei Wang, University of North Carolina
  • Jun Yang, Duke University
  • Carlo Zaniolo, UCLA

Industrial Track Program Committee

  • Sandeepan Banerjee, Oracle
  • Phil Bernstein, Microsoft Research
  • Don Chamberlin, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Alon Halevy, University of Washington
  • Jim Gray, Microsoft Research
  • Vishal Sikka, SAP
  • Dean Jacobs, BEA Systems

Demonstrations Program Committee

  • Sara Comai, Politecnico di Milano
  • Irini Fundulaki, Lucent Bell Labs
  • Avigdor Gal, Technion
  • Chen Li, UC Irvine
  • Sunil Prabhakar, Purdue University
  • Anthony K.H. Tung, National University of Singapore
Graduate Students
  • Jennifer Beckham, University of Wisconsin
  • Omar Benjelloun, INRIA
  • Yanlei Diao, UC Berkeley
  • Stavros Harizopoulos, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Bill Howe, OGI/OHSU
  • Yannis Velegrakis, University of Toronto

Tutorials Program Committee

  • Chris Clifton, Purdue University
  • Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois at Chicago