The ACM SIGMOD Student Research Competition is sponsored by Microsoft Research. This competition offers undergraduate and graduate students a unique forum to experience the research world, present their research results to conference attendees, and compete for prizes.

The competition has separate undergraduate and graduate categories, and consist of three rounds:

  1. A research abstract submission
  2. A poster presentation
  3. A research talk

The abstraction submission is done online before the conference. A committee reviews the submissions and invites selected students to attend SIGMOD to present a poster. A panel of judges reviews the posters and selects students to give a research talk on the next day where the final winners are determined. Three winners from each category are chosen; the grand winner from each category advances to the ACM-wide competition.


Undergraduate Category

  • Winner: Graham Lustiber (Harvard University)
  • First Runner-up: Damian Jimenez (University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Second Runner-up: Aidan Shea (Temple University)

Graduate Category

  • Winner: Utku Sirin (EPFL)
  • First Runner-up: Jennifer Ortiz (University of Washington)
  • Second Runner-up: Lingjiao Chen (University of Wisconsin at Madison)