The ACM Special Interest Group on Management of Data (SIGMOD) wants undergraduate students who have an interest in database systems to experience the cutting edge research presented at the ACM SIGMOD/PODS Joint Conferencess. In order to help those undergraduate students attend the conference, hence encouraging them to pursue a career related to database research, the ACM SIGMOD Undergraduate Scholarship Program was introduced by SIGMOD in 2000.


Oreoluwa Babarinsa (Harvard University, USA)
Advisor: Stratos Idreos
JAFAR : Near-Data Processing for DatabasesTrevor Clinkenbeard (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Advisor: Anisoara Nica
Job Scheduling with Minimizing Data Communication Costs

Styliani Pantela (Harvard University, USA)
Advisor: Stratos Idreos
One Loop Does Not Fit All

Adam Perelman (Stanford University, USA)
Advisor: Christopher Ré
Dunce Cap: Compiling Worst-Case Optimal Query Plans and Beyond (co-winner of best poster)

Susan Tu (Stanford University, USA)
Advisor: Christopher Ré
Dunce Cap: Query Plans Using Generalized Hypertree Decompositions (co-winner of best poster)

Mansheng Yang (National University of Singapore,Singapore)
Advisor: Richard Ma
Smooth Task Migration in Apache


Himel Dev (Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology)
A User Interaction Based Community Detection Algorithm for Online Social NetworksHimel Dev (Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology)
Privacy Preserving Social Graphs for High Precision Community Detection

Kevin Fernandes (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
PackageBuilder: Querying for packages of tuples

Curtis Kroetsch (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Multi-dimensional Data Statistics for Columnar In-Memory Databases

Mashaal Musleh (Umm Al-Qura University, KSA)
Spatio-temporal Visual Analysis for Event-Specific Tweets

Wenbo Tao (Tsinghua University, China)
Efficient Top-K SimRank-based Similarity Join

Min Xie (Advisors Cheng Long, Raymond Chi-Wing Wong)
EDS: A Segment-based Distance Measure for Sub-trajectory Similarity Search (winner of best poster)


Wladston Viana and Mirela Moro (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais)
FriendRouter – Real time Path Finder in Social NetworksRobert Christensen and Feifei Li (University of Utah)
Adaptive Log Compression for Massive Log Data (winner of best poster)

Luka Maas, Thomas Kissinger, Dirk Habich, and Wolfgang Lehner (Technische Universität Dresden)
BUZZARD: A NUMA-Aware In-Memory Indexing System

Tian Tan, Marianne Winslett, Richard Ma, Yin Yang, Yong Yu, and Zhenjie Zhang, (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, National University of Singapore, ADSC Singapore)
Resa: Realtime Elastic Streaming Analytics in the Cloud

Ruizhe Huang and Lei Zou (Peking University)
Natural Language Question Answering over RDF Data


Gi Hwan Oh, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Reducing Cache Misses in Hash Join Probing Phase By Pre-Sorting StrategyRazvan Ranca, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
SigSpot: Mining Significant Anomalous Regions from Time-Evolving Network

Kristina Lam Thai, University of California, San Diego, USA
Declarative Web Application Development: Encapsulating Dynamic JavaScript Widgets

Frank Rosner, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
Fast Sampling Word Correlations of High Dimensional Text Data

Tyler Sliwkanich, University of Alberta, Canada
Towards Scalable Summarization and Visualization of Large Text Corpora (winner of best poster)

Shangfu Peng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
DP-tree: Indexing Multi-Dimensional Data under Differential Privacy

Eduardo M. Barbosa, UFMG, Brazil
VRRC: Web Based Tool for Visualization and Recommendation on Co-Authorship Network


Yael Amsterdamer, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Top-k Algorithms for Interactive ProcessesIan Charlesworth, University of Waterloo
, Canada
Analyzing Plan Spaces of Query Optimizers

Theodore Georgiou, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Extracting Topics of Debate between Users on Web Discussion Boards (winner of best poster) 

Zhenqiang Gong, University of Science and Technology of China (USTC)
Parallel Algorithms for Top-k Query Processing

Manos Karvounis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Utilizing the Quoting System of Online Web Forums to Estimate User Agreement (winner of best poster)

Bharath Vissapragada, International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad (IIIT-H), India
Query Optimization on Cloud


Daniel Scott Brotherston, University of Waterloo, Canada
Comparing and visualizing query optimizer search spacesDavid M. Lewis, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA
An evaluative comparison of similarity coefficients for binary valued data

Sang-Phil Lim, Sung Kyun Kwan University, Korea
FASTer FTL for enterprise-class flash memory SSDs

Manasi Vartak, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Recommendation based query relaxation via mapping functions and space partitioning

Shashank Yaduvanshi, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India
An architecture for regulatory compliant database management


Sriram Vanama, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India
Sanghoon Cha, Brown University, USA
Alban Galland, University Telecom Paris Tech, France
Alexander G. Connor, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Hongyu Gao, Peking University, China
Yoshishige Tsuji, Keio University, Japan
Eli Cortez C. Vilarinho, Universidade Federal Do Amazonas, Brazil
Yang Ye, Tsinghua University, China


Rui Fang, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, China
Marcin Kwietniewski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland, and York University, Canada
Yin Yee (Samantha) Leung, University of British Columbia, Canada
Rui Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Yinan Li, Peking University, China
Zhongyuan Wang, Renmin University, China
Zhijun Yin, Fudan University, China


Ioannis Antonellis, University of Patras, Greece
Mark Daly, Princeton Univ., USA
Zhiwei (Tony) Qin, University of British Columbia, Canada
Morgan Jaclyn Gregory, University of British Columbia, Canada
Joshua Schiffman, Penn State University, USA


Arpit Jain, IIT Bombay, India
Jaekyun Seok, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Naju Mancheril, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Linus Liang, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Derek Dalrymple, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA


Andrei Arion, France
Anoop Shankar, Canada
Gaurav Pandey, India
Shashank Pandit, India
Shaveen Garg, India


Eric Chu, Univ. of Washington, USA
Anurag Maskey, Brandeis Univ., USA
Nicoleta Preda, Politechnic Univ. of Bucharest, Romania
Ping Wu, Fudan Univ., China


Daniel J. Abadi
Wu Cen
Justin Rosenstein
Yaling Pei


Jason Chionh
Nilesh Dalvi
Antonio Gomez
Markus Wawryniuk
Sumit Kumar Sanghai


Keiji Oenoki
Matjaz Planinsic
Gaurav Bhalota
Ryan Huebsch
Antonio Dona