Search SIGMOD Join SIGMOD Feedback What's New Home
In cooperation with

ACM SIGMOD/PODS 2004 Conference

Maison de la Chimie, Paris, France.
June 13-18, 2004

SIGMOD Call For Papers

23rd ACM SIGMOD International Conference on
Management of Data

Maison de la Chimie, Paris, France - June 13-18, 2004

The annual ACM SIGMOD conference is a leading forum for database researchers, practitioners, developers, and users to explore cutting-edge ideas and to exchange techniques, tools, and experiences. We invite the submission of original research contributions and industrial papers, as well as proposals for panels, tutorials, and demonstrations. We encourage submissions relating to all aspects of data management defined broadly, and particularly encourage work on topics of emerging interest in the research and development communities.

Important areas of interests include but are not limited to the following:

  • organizing and querying information on the Web;
  • integration of text, data, code, and streams;
  • large-scale information fusion;
  • peer-to-peer data management;
  • knowledge discovery;
  • personalized information systems;
  • data privacy and trustworthy systems;
  • new user interfaces;
  • embedded and self-organizing databases.

Important Dates

November 17, 2003Research paper abstracts due
November 24, 2003Research & industrial papers, panels, tutorials, and demos due
February 16, 2004Notification of acceptance
March 22, 2004Camera-ready due

Submission Guidelines

Research papers will be judged for quality and relevance through double-blind reviewing, where the identities of the authors are withheld from the reviewers (this does not include industrial papers, or panel, tutorial, and demo proposals). Thus, authors' names and affiliations must not appear in the paper and bibliographic references must be made in such a way as to preserve author anonymity. Detailed submission instructions appear on the conference web site. All submissions will be handled electronically.


General Chair:Patrick ValduriezINRIA, France
Program Committee Chair:Gerhard WeikumU Saarland, Germany
Demonstrations Co-Chairs: Luc BouganimINRIA, France
Donald KossmannU Heidelberg, Germany
Industrial Co-Chairs: Pamela DrewBoeing, USA
Roger BargaMicrosoft, USA
Tutorials Chair:Hank KorthLehigh U, USA
Panels Chair:Christian JensenU Aalborg, Denmark
Publicity Chair:Laurent AmsalegIRISA, France
Web Site Chair:José MartinezIRIN, France
Proceedings Chair:Christian KönigMicrosoft, USA
Electronic Proceedings Chair:Stefan DesslochU Kaiserslautern, Germany
Organization Co-Chairs: Elisabeth LebretIRISA, France
Dominique PotheratINRIA, France
Sponsor Co-Chairs: Mokrane BouzeghoubU. Versailles, France
Christine ColletINPG, France


Demonstrations Committee:

Philippe BonnetU Copenhagen, Denmark
Helena GalhardasINESC ID, Lisbon
Sven HelmerUniversity of Mannheim
Daniel KeimU Konstanz, Germany
Alexandros LabrinidisU Pittsburgh, USA
Stephane LopesPRISM
Sam MaddenUC Berkeley, USA
Sergey MelnikMicrosoft, USA
Kristin TufteOregon Graduate Institute
Jun YangDuke University, USA

Industrial Committee:

Gustavo AlonsoETH Zurich, Switzerland
Christoph BusslerOracle, USA
George CopelandMicrosoft, USA
Dana FlorescuXQRL, USA
Minos GarofalakisLucent, USA
Achim KraissSAP, Germany
Guy LohmanIBM, USA
Calton PuGeorgia Tech, USA
Surya SripadaBoeing, USA

Tutorials Committee:

Steve BlottDublin City U, Ireland
José BlakeleyMicrosoft, USA

Program Committee:

Karl AbererEPF Lausanne, Switzerland
Gustavo AlonsoETH Zurich, Switzerland
Sihem Amer-YahiaAT&T Labs, USA
Peter ApersU Twente, Netherlands
Catriel BeeriHebrew U, Israel
Sonia BergamaschiU Modena, Italy
Michael BöhlenU Aalborg, Denmark
Klemens BöhmU Magdeburg, Germany
Peter BonczCWI, Netherlands
Anthony BonnerU Toronto, Canada
Peter BunemanU Edinburgh, UK
Fabio CasatiHP Labs, USA
Stefano CeriPolitecnico di Milano, Italy
Ugur CetintemelBrown U, USA
Edward ChangUC Santa Barbara, USA
Surajit ChaudhuriMicrosoft, USA
Ming-Syan ChenNU Taiwan, Taiwan
David CheungU Hong Kong, China
Jan ChomickiSUNY Buffalo, USA
Paolo CiacciaU Bologna, Italy
Sophie CluetINRIA, France
Edith CohenAT&T Labs, USA
Christine ColletINPG, France
Pedro DomingosU Washington, USA
Mary FernandezAT&T Labs, USA
Juliana FreireOGI Portland, USA
Sumit GangulyBell Labs, USA
Dieter GawlickOracle, USA
Lise GetoorU Maryland, USA
Carole GobleU Manchester, UK
Leana GolubchikUSC, USA
Goetz GraefeMicrosoft, USA
Torsten GrustU Konstanz, Germany
Dimitrios GunopulosUC Riverside, USA
James HamiltonMicrosoft, USA
Joachim HammerU Florida, USA
Jayant HaritsaIISc Bangalore, India
Thomas HofmannBrown U, USA
Rick HullLucent, USA
Tomasz ImielinskiRutgers U, USA
Zachary IvesU Pennsylvania, USA
Dean JacobsBEA, USA
H.V. JagadishU Michigan, USA
Theodore JohnsonAT&T Labs, USA
Laks V.S. LakshmananUBC Vancouver, Canada
Paul LarsonMicrosoft, USA
Bruce LindsayIBM, USA
Ling LiuGeorgia Tech, USA
Hongjun LuU Hong Kong, China
Bertram LudaescherSDSC San Diego, USA
Ioana ManolescuINRIA, France
Volker MarklIBM, USA
Mario NascimentoU Alberta, Canada
Shojiro NishioOsaka U, Japan
Patrick O'NeilUMass Boston, USA
Esther PacittiU Nantes, France
Jan ParedaensU Antwerp, Belgium
Philippe PucheralINRIA, France
Prabhakar RaghavanVerity, USA
Raghu RamakrishnanU Wisconsin, USA
Mirek RiedewaldCornell U, USA
Arnie RosenthalMITRE, USA
Marie-Christine RoussetU Paris-Sud, France
Peter ScheuermannNorthwestern U, USA
Heiko SchuldtUMIT Innsbruck, Austria
Peter SchwarzIBM, USA
Bernhard SeegerU Marburg, Germany
Thomas SeidlRWTH Aachen, Germany
Timos SellisNTU Athens, Greece
Cyrus ShahabiUSC Los Angeles, USA
Oded ShmueliTechnion, Israel
Rick SnodgrassU Arizona, USA
Ion StoicaUC Berkeley, USA
S. SudarshanIIT Bombay, India
Torsten SuelPolytechnic U, USA
David TomanU Waterloo, Canada
Anthony TomasicCMU, USA
Peter TriantafillouU Patras, Greece
Roger WeberETH Zurich, Switzerland
Kyu-Young WhangKAIST, South Korea
Andrew WitkowskiOracle, USA
Kam-Fai WongChinese U Hong Kong, China
Pavel ZezulaU Brno, Czech Republic
Aidong ZhangSUNY Buffalo, USA
Justin ZobelRMIT Melbourne, Australia

Welcome | SIGMOD CFP | PODS CFP | SIGMOD Program | PODS Program | Registration | Organization | Venue | Links

Web site by Gaëtan Gaumer - Original design by Michalis Petropoulos - Feedback