Yahiko Kambayashi

1995 SIGMOD Contributions Award

Yahiko Kambayashi received the B.E., M.E., and Ph. D. degrees in electronic engineering from Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan, in 1965, 1967, and 1970, respectively. During 1970 – 1971 he was a Research Associate at Kyoto University. From 1971 to 1973 he was a Visiting Research Associate at the University of Illinois, Urbana. During 1973 – 1984 he was with the Department of Information Science, Kyoto University. In 1984 he became a Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Communication Engineering, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan. Since1990, he has been a Professor of Kyoto University. He is currently a Professor at Department of Social Informatics, Graduate School of Informatics. In 1979, he was a Visiting Professor at McGill University, Montreal, P.Q., Canada, and in 1984 he was a Visiting Professor at Wuhan University, Wuhan, China. His research interests include logic design, databases and applications of database technology to computer supported cooperative wo rk. Logic design method called transduction method developed jointly by him and Prof. Muroga of University of Illinois is now used by major U.S. and Japanese logic design software venders. He had been the head of the Japanese database research project supported by the Ministry of Education, consisting of over 50 university researchers from April 1996 to March 1999. Dr. Kambayashi was a Chairman of SIGDBS (database systems) of the Information Processing Society of Japan (IPSJ), a Chairman of SIGCOMP (computation theory) of the Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers of Japan(IEICEJ). He was also a member of the board of IPSJ(two terms), a member of VLDB endowment, the vice-chair of ACM Tokyo/Japan Chapter, and members of editorial boards of several international journals. He is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a member of IEICEJ, IPSJ and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). He received the Yonezawa Award of IEICEJ(1975), the Niwa Award of JICST(1978), the Best Book Author Award of IEICEJ(1987), and the ACM SIGMOD Contribution Award(1995).