2024 SIGMOD Awards

The 2024 SIGMOD Awards Committee comprising Angela Bonifati, H. V. Jagadish (Chair), David Maier, Sayan Ranu, Sourav S. Bhowmick, and Wang-Chiew Tan is happy to announce the following recipients of the 2024 ACM SIGMOD awards.

The 2024 ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award goes to Samuel Madden for his wide ranging contributions to multiple aspects of data management, including column-oriented database systems, high performance transaction processing, and systems for mobile and sensor data.

The 2024 ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award goes to Sihem Amer-Yahia for her contributions towards diversity, equity, and inclusion in the professional database research community.

The 2024 ACM SIGMOD Test-of-Time Award goes to “PrivBayes: Private Data Release via Bayesian Networks” by Jun Zhang, Graham Cormode, Cecilia M. Procopiuc, Divesh Srivastava, Xiaokui Xiao.

The 2024 ACM SIGMOD Systems Award goes to “Apache SINGA“, for the development of a distributed, efficient, scalable, and easy-to-use deep learning platform for large scale data analytics. The list of contributors is Zhaojing Luo, Beng Chin Ooi, Wei Wang, Meihui Zhang, Qingchao Cai, Shaofeng Cai, Gang Chen, Tien Tuan Anh Dinh, Jinyang Gao, Qian Lin, Shicong Lin, Kee Yuan Ngiam, Gene Yan Ooi, Moaz Reyad, Kian-Lee Tan, Anthony K. H. Tung, Sheng Wang, Yuncheng Wu, Zhongle Xie, Naili Xing, Rulin Xing, Wanqi Xue, Sai Ho Yeung, James Yip, Lingze Zeng, Zhaoqi Zhang, Kaiping Zheng, Lei Zhu, and Ji Wang.