Nomination Deadline March 1, 2017

In 1992, ACM SIGMOD started the Annual SIGMOD Innovations Award and SIGMOD Contributions Award as part of its Awards Program. In 2004, SIGMOD, with the unanimous approval of ACM Council, renamed the Innovations Award in honor of Dr. Edgar F. (Ted) Codd (1923 – 2003), who invented the relational data model that led to the significant development of the data management field as a scientific discipline.

SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award

The SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award is for innovative and highly significant contributions of enduring value to the development, understanding, or use of data management systems. Previous winners of the Innovations Award are: Michael Stonebraker (1992), James Gray (1993), Philip Bernstein (1994), David DeWitt (1995), C. Mohan (1996), David Maier (1997), Serge Abiteboul (1998), Hector Garcia-Molina (1999), Rakesh Agrawal (2000), Rudolf Bayer (2001), Patricia Selinger (2002), Donald Chamberlin (2003), Ronald Fagin (2004), Michael Carey (2005), Jeffrey Ullman (2006), Jennifer Widom (2007), Moshe Vardi (2008), Masaru Kitsuregawa (2009), Umeshwar Dayal (2010), Surajit Chaudhuri (2011), Bruce Lindasy (2012), Stefano Ceri (2013), Martin Kersten (2014), Laura Haas (2015), and Gerhard Weikum (2016).

SIGMOD Contributions Award

The SIGMOD Contributions Award is for outstanding services to the data management field through new community initiatives, professional services, standards activities, and research funding. Previous winners of the Contributions Award are: Maria Zemankova (1992), Gio Wiederhold (1993), Yahiko Kambayashi (1995), Jeffrey Ullman (1996), Avi Silberschatz (1997), Won Kim (1998), Raghu Ramakrishnan (1999), Laura Haas and Michael Carey (2000), Daniel Rosenkrantz (2001), Richard Snodgrass (2002), Michael Ley (2003), Surajit Chaudhuri (2004), Hongjun Lu (2005), Tamer Ozsu (2006), Hans-Joerg Schek (2007), Klaus Dittrich (2008), Beng Chin Ooi (2009), David Lomet (2010), Gerhard Weikum (2011), Marianne Winslett (2012), H.V. Jagadish (2013), Kyu-Young Whang (2014), Curtis Dyreson (2015), and Samuel Madden (2016).

Award details and nomination process (Innovations and Contributions Awards)

Each award is given annually (if there is at least one qualified candidate) and consists of a plaque per person plus an honorarium ($10,000 for the Codd Innovation Award, and $1,000 for the Contributions Award). If the award is given to more than one individual, the honorarium will be split among all the recipients. The recipients will receive the awards at the annual ACM SIGMOD/PODS Conference, at the awards session.

Eligibility: anyone except the current elected officers of SIGMOD (Chair, Vice Chair, and Treasurer), and members of the SIGMOD Awards Committee. Awards should be for contributions not already honored by a major ACM Award (e.g., the Turing Award, SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award, or SIGMOD Contributions Award).

Nomination: Anyone in the field can nominate one or more persons (self-nominations are excluded). Nominations should include a proposed citation (up to 25 words), a succinct (100-250 words) description of the innovation/contribution, and a detailed statement to justify the nomination; plain text is preferred. Along with the nomination, three additional supporting letters should be submitted. Such letters, however, should not be simple endorsements of the nomination, but convey additional factual information. The Awards Committee will evaluate all nominations and decide on zero or more winners. The Committee is free to identify candidates for innovations and contributions award themselves and is not required to pick among submitted nominations.

Nominations must be received by March 1, 2017 to be considered for this year’s award. Nominations should be sent to the email address given below. The committee will automatically re-consider previously submitted nominations for both awards from the past two years (2015 and 2016). However, nominators are welcome to revise the supporting documents for such candidates if they so wish.

Where to Send Nominations

Nominations should be submitted via e-mail to the SIGMOD 2017 Awards Committee Chair at

Test-of-time award

There is no formal nomination process for this award, but the awards committee appreciates input from the data management community. The SIGMOD Awards Committee is charged with selecting the paper from the SIGMOD Proceedings from 10 to 12 years ago (i.e., from SIGMOD 2005, SIGMOD 2006, or SIGMOD 2007) that has best met the “test of time” criteria, i.e., has had the most influence since its publication (in earlier years this award was given to a paper that appeared exactly 10 years ago in SIGMOD). We are especially interested in first-hand accounts of ways in which the ideas of a paper have been used in practice. Any input for the test of time award should also be submitted via e-mail to the SIGMOD 2017 Awards Committee Chair at no later than March 1, 2017.

SIGMOD 2017 Awards Committee

– Surajit Chaudhuri, Microsoft (Chair)

– David Dewitt, MIT

– Martin Kersten, CWI

– Maurizio Lenzerini, Sapienza University of Rome

– Jennifer Widom, Stanford University