SIGMOD Elections are underway

Elections for new SIGMOD officers have started. If you have received an Email from ACM’s Election Services Corp, please, follow the link in that Email and vote as soon as possible, but no later than June 9. If you have not received an Email, then you are probably not a SIGMOD member. Please, become a SIGMOD ( and help us get more weight within the ACM.

We would like to thank all the candidates who have graciously accepted to run for this election: Juliana Freire, Zack Ives, Yanlei Diao, Ihab Ilyas, Fatma Ozcan, and Julia Stoyanovich. Thanks so much. It is fantastic to see that SIGMOD has such a deep set of volunteers.

We would also like to thank the search committee which has done an outstanding job in putting together such a wonderful slate of candidates: Yannis Ioannidis (chair), Mike Franklin, Laura Haas, Tova Milo, and Gerhard Weikum.

With these elections, our term in the SIGMOD Executive Committee as elected officers will end. We would like to thank you all for your support in the last four years, and we are looking forward to thanking you in person in a few weeks at the SIGMOD/PODS 2017 Conference in Chicago. We will report on our experiences over the last four years at the business meeting of the conference. In the meantime, please, let us know if you have any questions, suggestions, or comments.

Best regards,

Donald Kossmann
Anastasia Ailamaki
Magda Balazinska